Entry Points:

About Teton County

The shining granite peaks of the Teton Mountains, towering above their forested base and the sagebrush flats of Jackson Hole, are the namesake of Teton County. Two national Parks, the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone are found in this beautiful, forested and mountainous country on the western boundary of Wyoming. The elevations in Teton County are high, with peaks reaching to 13,770. Even the valley floors are high, with most areas being above 7,000 feet.

Teton County was organized in 1921 with the county seat at Jackson. It covers 4,008 square miles and is home to 18,625 people (as of the year 2000). The valley called Jackson Hole is the center of population, which lies at the base of the Teton Mountains, and through which the Snake River flows.

In Teton County:

5,875 Photographs

Places of Interest:

Teton County is in:



  • Alta
  • Hoback Junction
  • Jackson
  • Teton Village
  • Wilson